Lidl Balcony Solar Battery for €299: What's Really Inside the Tronic
As of 03.09.2026 · Status: promotion over, no new sale date announced
€299 for 2,240 Wh. No German discounter had ever shelved a balcony battery that cheap, and three days later the Lidl balcony solar battery was gone again. What stayed behind is the question Lidl still hasn't answered: who builds it?
Lidl balcony solar battery: what actually sold in May
According to pv-magazine, the Tronic Solarstromspeicher from Lidl, a 2.24 kWh unit, went for €299 instead of the regular €399, with the discount tied to a Lidl Plus card. inside-digital.de lists the same figures: 2,240 Wh LiFePO4, 1,000 W in, 800 W out, in stores 21 to 23 May 2026 and online through 27 May. That works out to €133 per kWh (our own arithmetic). Unusually low.
And today? As of 03.09.2026 no outlet has reported the Lidl balcony solar battery back on sale, and the most recent coverage we found is dated 18.07.2026. A retail promotion can always return, of course.
Who is behind Tronic?
The Lidl balcony solar battery carries the Tronic brand name, Lidl's own electronics label. The paperwork names OWIM as manufacturer. That answers nothing. OWIM is Lidl's private-label holding company, so it's the brand owner. Not the factory.
The most concrete lead comes from the community. In the Akkudoktor forum, a user posting as "u-f-o" compared the Lidl balcony solar battery's enclosure with the Marstek B2500 and called them structurally identical, apart from the lower PV input of 1,000 W against 1,600 W. Another member had already picked the B2500 on announcement day, while warning that special firmware could still limit compatibility.
Then there's the claim the whole debate hangs on. inside-digital.de writes that it put an official question to Marstek and heard back from the marketing department that the unit is "in fact an older version of the MARSTEK B2500" from an earlier collaboration.
That's one outlet's reported quote. No second publication has repeated it, Lidl confirms nothing, and it doesn't appear on Marstek's own channels. We haven't opened this device and we haven't measured it. So the manufacturer question isn't settled in any way you could lean on, even though every piece of circumstantial evidence points the same way.
Tronic, Marstek, Anker and EcoFlow side by side
How does the Lidl balcony solar battery compare with Marstek, Anker and EcoFlow on price and spec sheet?
| Device | Capacity | PV input | Output | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lidl TRONIC Solarstromspeicher | 2,240 Wh | 1,000 W | 800 W | €299 promo price, 21 to 27 May 2026, per pv-magazine |
| Marstek Saturn B2500-D | 2,240 Wh | 1,600 W | 800 W | €339 at Amazon.de, as of 03.09.2026 |
| Anker SOLIX Solarbank 2 E1600 AC | 1,600 Wh | not stated | not stated | €529 at Amazon.de, as of 03.09.2026 |
| EcoFlow Stream Ultra | 1,920 Wh | not stated | not stated | €551.65 at Amazon.de, as of 03.09.2026 |
The price gap is the real story: every figure in the table above is a manufacturer specification, not an independent measurement. The Marstek Saturn B2500-D sells for roughly €289 to €362 depending on the retailer, per the Geizhals price comparison. Against a €299 promo price that's a difference of under €40, and for it Marstek publishes IP65, an operating range of minus 20 to plus 60 degrees and 6,000 charge cycles, all manufacturer figures.
Just how fast the balcony-storage market is moving shows in the new EcoFlow Stream 5000 at 5 kWh: more than double the capacity of the Tronic battery, at a correspondingly higher price.
Marstek B2500D Speicher 2240Wh für Balkonkraftwerke, LiFePO4 Akku, erweiterbar
It costs more, but the app ecosystem is more open: the EcoFlow Stream Ultra Balkonkraftwerk-Speicher 1,92 kWh, 4 MPPT, 2800 W Solareingang at 1.92 kWh.
Marstek B2500D Speicher 2240Wh für Balkonkraftwerke, LiFePO4 Akku, erweiterbar
View at AmazonAffiliate link. Buying through it earns us a commission; the price stays the same for you.
EcoFlow Stream Ultra Balkonkraftwerk-Speicher 1,92 kWh, 4 MPPT, 2800 W Solareingang
View at Amazon (as of Aug 11)Affiliate link. Buying through it earns us a commission; the price stays the same for you.
What the Lidl balcony solar battery doesn't tell you
homeandsmart.de lists four gaps in the data sheet:
no cycle count
no IP rating
no backup power output
only two MPPT trackers instead of four
For a box that hangs on a balcony, the missing IP rating is probably the worst of them.
Then there's the testing situation. The c't-Phasenlage team at heise online had a review unit whose Bluetooth connection to the app never came up, so what they published was a general assessment rather than a test. One unit, one pairing failure, and that's honestly no verdict on the product line. But it does mean this: still no completed independent test.
Control runs through the Lidl Home app, a rebadged Tuya app, and that's the main complaint in the forums. If you run Home Assistant, Shelly or Marstek's own smart-meter ecosystem, you're stuck. Lidl's line about compatibility with 99 percent of micro-inverters and balcony modules covers the plug side. Not the software. And none of this touches Germany's 800-watt cap on balcony solar systems. The battery doesn't change that either way.
Lidl balcony solar battery: wait for the next promotion, or buy elsewhere?
The Lidl balcony solar battery cost €299, a good price. But paying under €40 more for a published protection rating, twice the PV input and an open integration path is a decent trade, at least if the battery lives outdoors. Do the arithmetic for your own consumption first, including whether a balcony storage battery actually pays back in the first place. Standby draw eats part of the saving, and it never shows up in a promotional flyer.
If you want more headroom, you probably end up at the Anker SOLIX Solarbank 2 E1600 AC, Balkonkraftwerk mit Speicher or the somewhat cheaper Anker SOLIX 2 Plus Solarbank (1,6 kWh).
Anker SOLIX Solarbank 2 E1600 AC, Balkonkraftwerk mit Speicher
View at AmazonAffiliate link. Buying through it earns us a commission; the price stays the same for you.
Anker SOLIX 2 Plus Solarbank (1,6 kWh)
View at AmazonAffiliate link. Buying through it earns us a commission; the price stays the same for you.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I still get the Lidl balcony solar battery for €299?
No. The promo price ran in stores from 21 to 23 May 2026 and online through 27 May 2026, in both cases with a Lidl Plus card. As of 03.09.2026 no outlet has reported it back on sale. A repeat isn't impossible, but nobody has announced one.
Is the Tronic battery really a Marstek B2500?
It isn't confirmed. inside-digital.de reports a statement to that effect from Marstek's marketing department, no second outlet has repeated it, and Lidl names no manufacturer. The Akkudoktor forum adds enclosure comparisons and the verdict "structurally identical". Circumstantial evidence, yes. Proof, no.
Will the Lidl balcony solar battery work with my existing setup?
Lidl advertises compatibility with 99 percent of micro-inverters and balcony modules, which is about the connector side. Control runs through the Tuya-based Lidl Home app, and users across several forums report that the device cannot be pulled into Home Assistant or third-party smart-meter systems.
Has anyone tested the Tronic battery independently?
Not so far. The c't-Phasenlage team at heise received a review unit whose Bluetooth connection to the app failed, so all they could offer was a general assessment. No completed lab test of the Lidl balcony solar battery from Stiftung Warentest, the ADAC or heise exists.
What's missing from the Lidl balcony solar battery data sheet?
homeandsmart.de names four items: no cycle count, no IP rating, no backup power output, and two MPPT trackers where comparable units carry four. Mount the battery somewhere sheltered and you can live with the missing IP figure. Otherwise it's a bet.