Anker Power Bank Recall: Three Waves That Became One Story
Last checked: 02.09.2026
Between June and September 2025, the same headline showed up twice: Anker is recalling power banks. That wasn't a repost. Those were two different actions. Count the one from autumn 2024 and you get three. Search for Anker power bank recall today and you'll find a write-up of each action, but almost nothing that lines them up. The model numbers, windows and scopes overlap, so it reads like one story that refuses to end.
It isn't one story.
The three Anker power bank recalls, side by side
| Wave | Date | Models | Units affected | Reported incidents | Scope |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Anker announcement approx. 20.09.2024, CPSC notice 17.10.2024 | A1642, A1647, A1652 | approx. 2,100 units | 28 reports, 2 injuries | USA |
| 2a | 13.06.2025 | A1263 (PowerCore 10000) | approx. 1,158,000 units | 19 fire or explosion reports, 2 minor burns | USA at first |
| 2b | 27.06.2025, VKI listing 23.07.2025 | A1257, A1647, A1681, A1689 | not stated, production 03.01.2024 to 17.09.2024 | not stated | voluntary worldwide, Germany included |
| 3 | 18.09.2025 | A1647, A1652, A1257, A1681, A1689 | approx. 481,000 units | 33 fire or explosion reports, 4 minor burns, 1 substantial property damage report | USA, regulator-backed |
Wave 1: autumn 2024, roughly 2,100 units
Three MagSafe-style mini power banks started it. Anker's own recall page for A1642, A1647 and A1652 lists 28 reports of overheating, explosion or fire, plus two people injured with first and second degree burns. The formal CPSC (Consumer Product Safety Commission) notice carries the date 17 October 2024 and is mirrored by New York State's homeland security office, among others. Roughly 2,100 units.
No separate German-market announcement is documented for this wave. That doesn't stop it from sitting in a results list right next to the 2025 reports.
Wave 2: June 2025, two announcements in four weeks
On 13 June, heise online covered the recall of the PowerCore 10000 (A1263), roughly 1,158,000 units, framed at the time as a US action. Two weeks later, on 27 June, heise reported a separate action: a voluntary worldwide recall of four models (A1257, A1647, A1681, A1689), limited to units made between 3 January and 17 September 2024. Two of those four, A1681 and A1689, are sold by Anker as the Anker Zolo Power Bank (20,000mAh, 30W). Austria's consumer body VKI listed exactly those four numbers on 23 July 2025.
Two announcements, one month, not a single shared model. Collapse them into "the June recall" and you've already lost the thread.
Wave 3: September 2025, now regulator-backed
Per the CPSC, around 481,000 power banks were covered as of 18 September 2025, models A1647, A1652, A1257, A1681 and A1689, with 33 fire or explosion incidents, 4 minor burns and one substantial property damage report. This is mostly Anker's voluntary June action, made binding in the US.
Why the coverage got tangled
Four things came together, and sloppiness wasn't one of them.
The scope moved while the story was live. Notebookcheck wrote on 13 June 2025 that the A1263 action was limited to the USA. On 20 June, an update: user reports said German units were affected too. The piece was never wrong; the facts shifted underneath it.
The model list changed shape three times. A1647 sits in wave 1, is missing from the July 2025 VKI list, and reappears on the CPSC list in September 2025. Same for A1652. Check at three moments and you get three only partly overlapping rosters for one thing everyone calls by one name.
Even the trade press needed a disclaimer. PCWorld spent a sentence in September 2025 clarifying that the regulator-backed action included models from Anker's June recall, but not the A1263. When a tech outlet has to explain that, the problem probably isn't the reader.
And all of it sounded like the same fault. Because it was the same fault.
One supplier, three recalls
In its official recall notice, Anker names the cause as "a potential issue with common, lithium-ion battery cells from a single vendor." One cell source, several product families.
heise online went further on the mechanism: a supplier reportedly made unauthorised changes to raw materials, causing a membrane insulation failure inside the cells. Anker then switched suppliers from Apex Wuxi to ATL (Amperex Technology Limited) and ordered 45 million replacement cells.
One defect high up the supply chain, three regulatory and PR processes at their own speeds. That produces three news events that feel like one long one.
Does this affect me?
Only if your unit carries one of the listed model numbers and falls inside the affected production window. The number is printed small on the housing, next to the capacity figure, and starts with an A. We maintain current numbers and serial ranges in the power bank recall overview for 2025 and 2026.
Copying that list here would be the worse idea. Recall lists change, which is the whole subject.
What owners report about the exchange process
In one discussion forum, the frustration isn't about whether the recall was justified, it's about the paperwork. One poster says an acquaintance got refunded the list price, not what they paid. Another can't read the serial number on an older unit, receipt or not, and calls the process worthless without one. A third says Anker is leaving customers out in the cold.
Forum voices, not a survey. Nobody publishes solid figures on processing times or refund rates, so there's no number here.
If you're replacing an affected unit
A certification mark is no insurance against a cell fault that only surfaces after the sale. That's exactly what happened at Anker. Still, a documented certification beats no marking at all. The UGREEN Nexode 20000mAh lists a CCC certification in its product data, around €39.99 per Amazon.de, as of 02.09.2026.
UGREEN Nexode Power Bank 20000mAh 55W mit CCC-Zertifizierung
UGREEN Nexode Power Bank 20000mAh 55W mit CCC-Zertifizierung
View at AmazonAffiliate link. Buying through it earns us a commission; the price stays the same for you.
Same capacity class, a bit cheaper, with two built-in USB-C cables you can't misplace separately: the Baseus FC11, also CCC-certified, around €32.98 per Amazon.de, as of 02.09.2026. Both figures are retailer-stated, not independently tested. For how 20000mAh converts into the watt-hours that matter on a plane, see our mAh to Wh conversion.
Baseus FC11 Powerbank CCC 45W 20000mAh mit 2 Integrierten USB-C Kabeln
Baseus FC11 Powerbank CCC 45W 20000mAh mit 2 Integrierten USB-C Kabeln
View at AmazonAffiliate link. Buying through it earns us a commission; the price stays the same for you.
What the three Anker power bank recalls say about buying decisions
The finding isn't that Anker builds bad power banks. It's less comfortable: a single cell supplier can cut across several product lines, and customers only hear about it after the matter passes through three regulatory mills, each at its own pace. Stiftung Warentest passed all 24 power banks it tested in 2026 on safety, as we summarised here, and that belongs to the same picture: a recall tells you something about a batch, not a brand.
Note the model number and purchase date before you need them. And with the next Anker power bank recall, check the date and scope first. Without those, a recall report is just a feeling.
Frequently Asked Questions
How many Anker recalls were there in 2024 and 2025?
Three separate actions. Anker announced the first in September 2024, with a CPSC notice dated 17 October 2024. The second ran in June 2025 and consisted of two announcements. The CPSC made the third binding in the US on 18 September 2025.
Did the PowerCore 10000 recall apply in Germany?
Anker framed the A1263 action as a US matter at first. Notebookcheck added on 20 June 2025 that, per user reports, units bought in Germany were affected too. A formal extension of that action to Germany isn't documented in the sources checked here.
What is the difference between the June 2025 recall and the September 2025 one?
June was voluntary, worldwide, and covered four models. In September 2025 the CPSC made it a legally binding action for the US market, with five models and roughly 481,000 units. The A1263 from the earlier June report wasn't on that regulator list.
Why do the same model numbers show up in more than one recall?
Because the cause was the same. Anker traces the fault to lithium-ion cells from a single supplier used across several product families. So models like A1647 and A1652 appear in both 2024 and 2025, each time in a different regulatory frame.
What if Anker doesn't respond to my recall claim?
Preserve your evidence: the receipt, photos of the housing and serial number, and a dated record of each contact. In Germany the Verbraucherzentrale is the obvious next stop. There are no reliable public figures on processing times, so we won't name a deadline here.
Sources
- own recall page for A1642, A1647 and A1652 anker.com
- mirrored by New York State's homeland security office dhses.ny.gov
- heise online heise.de
- heise reported a separate action heise.de
- consumer body VKI vki.at
- CPSC cpsc.gov
- Notebookcheck notebookcheck.com
- PCWorld pcworld.com
- official recall notice anker.com
- discussion forum previval.org